Uthina
 
 


The ancient city of Uthina lies about thirty kilometres to the south of the capital, at what is known as Oudna, on a knoll overlooking the main access routes to Carthage from the south and west of the country. Its foundation seems to date to the Libyc (or Berber) period as attested by the place name. Following the course of History, it became Punic then Roman before being briefly Vandal and Byzantine, for no more than a century each, and then falling into final decline after the Arab conquest in the VIIth century.

The protected site extends over about a hundred hectares. It is dotted with imposing constructions dating to the Roman period now under excavation and consolidation. These include the capitol, the largest of Africa, built on three levels; two groups of large capacity cisterns; large public baths and small private baths; vestiges of patrician villas, an amphitheatre partially dug into the ground with a capacity of above 10.000 spectators.

Excavation campaigns undertaken on the site since the end of the XIXth century have revealed many pieces dating to the Punic, Roman and Arab periods. Uthina has also given the Bardo Museum a collection of mosaic pavements of unsurpassed workmanship.

Now that the site of Oudna has been designated an archaeological park it is being equipped with the necessary infrastructure to turn it into a true tourist centre: a waymarked circuit, proper signposting, a site museum, a visitor’s centre, a shop.

Back

North
- site
- parc
From 16/09 to 16/06 : 09.00 - 17.00
From 18/07 to 15/09 : 09.00 - 19.00
From 17/06 to 17/07 : 9:00-16:00 Horaire Ramaden
7 Dt
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Uthina
 
 


L’antique cité d’Uthina se situe à une trentaine de kilomètres au sud de la capitale, à l’endroit dit Oudhna, au faîte d’une éminence qui domine les principales voies d’accès à Carthage venant du sud et de l’ouest du pays. Sa fondation semble remonter à l’époque libyque (ou berbère) comme en atteste sa toponymie. Au gré des fluctuations de l’Histoire, elle a été punicisée puis romanisée, avant les deux brèves tutelles vandale et byzantine – près d’un siècle chacune préludes à un déclin définitif après la conquête arabe au VIIe siècle.

Le site sauvegardé s’étend sur une centaine d’hectares. Il est « capitoné » d’imposants édifices remontant à l’époque romaine et actuellement en cours de dégagement et de consolidation. Ce sont : le capitole, le plus grand d’Afrique, aménagé sur trois niveaux ; deux groupes de citernes à très forte capacité ; de grands thermes publics et de petits thermes privés ; les vestiges de demeures patriciennes, un amphithéâtre en partie encastré dans le sol et d’une capacité d’accueil initiale supérieure à 10.000 spectateurs.

Les campagnes de fouilles engagées dans ce site depuis la fin du XIXe siècle ont livré de très nombreuses pièces remontant aux époques punique, romaine et arabe. Uthina a, en particulier, livré au musée du Bardo une collection de pavements de mosaïque d’une perfection inégalée.

Après son érection en parc archéologique, le site d’Oudhna est en cours d’aménagement pour être doté d’infrastructures et d’équipements appropriés et en faire un véritable pôle touristique : un circuit balisé, une signalétique idoine, un musée de site, une aire d’accueil et une aile commerciale.

Retour

Nord
- site
- parc
Du 16/09 au 16/06 : 09.00 - 17.00
Du 18/07 au 15/09 : 09.00 - 19.00
Du 17/06 au 17/07 : 9:00-16:00 Horaire Ramaden
7 Dt
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria