Thuburbo Majus
 
 



The initial “t” of the place name attests to the city’s Libyc origin, although it is not known when it was founded. All we know is that during the Punic wars it sided with Carthage against Rome for which it later paid a heavy tribute. In 27 BC, Octavian Augusts established a colony of Italian veterans next to the native population. It was only in 188 that the two twin cities merged and embarked on an era of great prosperity with the building of sumptuous public monuments and superb villas.

Thuburbo declined in the mid IIIrd century before achieving a brilliant rebirth in the IVth century, going as far as to proclaim itself Respublica Felix Thuburbo Majus. The Vandal invasion in the mid Vth century put its prosperity to an end and reduced it to the ranks of a large village, which after the Arab conquest, was abandoned.

The site is quite extensive and covers about 40 hectares. It has been partially excavated and is dotted with many buildings, mostly monumental, such as the capitol, with its 6 façade columns and two round the side 8,50 m high and 0,85cm in diameter; or the temple of Peace and that of Mercury, the temple of Caelestis, patron of the city, that of Ceres, transformed into a basilica in the IVth century, the summer baths and the winter baths, as well as the market, the residential quarter.

Back

North
- site
- museum
From 16/09 to 18/07 : 08.30 - 17.30
From 18/07 to 15/09 : 08.30 - 17:30
From 17/06 to 17/07 : 8:00-17:00 Horaire Ramaden
7 Dt
Closed on Monday
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Thuburbo Majus
 
 


L’initiale « t » du toponyme atteste de l’origine libyque de la cité, mais l’époque de sa fondation est inconnue. On sait seulement qu’elle se rangea, lors des guerres puniques, du côté de Carthage contre Rome et que cela lui valut plus tard un lourd tribut. En 27 avant J-C., Octave Auguste installa dans son voisinage une colonie de vétérans italiens aux côtés des autochtones. Ce n’est qu’en 188 que les deux cités jumelles fusionnèrent et que la ville entra dans une ère de grande prospérité, se dotant de somptueux monuments publics et de superbes demeures.

Thuburbo connut un déclin au milieu du IIIe siècle avant une brillante renaissance au IVe siècle, la conduisant jusqu’à se proclamer Respublica Felix Thuburbo Majus. L’invasion vandale, au milieu du Ve siècle, mit fin à la prospérité de la ville et la ramena au rang d’une bourgade qui ne tarda pas, après la conquête arabe, à être désertée.

Le site est assez étendu, environ 40 hectares. Partiellement fouillé, il est «capitonné» de nombreux édifices, monumentaux pour la plupart, tel le capitole, avec ses 6 colonnes en façade et deux en retour hautes de 8,50m et de 0,85cm de diamètre ; ou le temple de la Paix et celui de Mercure, le temple de Caelestis, patronne de la cité, celui de Cérès, transformé en basilique au IVe siècle, les thermes d’été et ceux d’hiver, sans compter le marché, le quartier résidentiel…

Retour

Nord
- site
- musée
Du 16/09 au 18/07 : 08.30 - 17.30
Du 18/07 au 15/09 : 08.30 - 17:30
Du 17/06 au 17/07 : 8:00-17:00 Horaire Ramaden
7 Dt
Fermé Lundi
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria