The site of Sidi Khelifa (Pheradi Majus)
 
 

Sidi Khelifa is a rural village built around the mausoleum of its patron saint of the same name who founded it in the XIXth century. In the mid 80s the village was the object of an original experiment that consisted in adding new buildings using ancestral architectural techniques and resorting exclusively to local materials. It is worth seeing.

The village lies next to an ancient site: Pheradi Majus. The excavated vestiges date to the IInd and IIIrd centuries. A triumphal gate, in perfect state, gives onto the forum lined with shops, a nymphaeum from which spring water flowed, a capitoline temple, baths etc.
At the top of the wooded hill overlooking the site the walls of a temple dedicated to Venus, subsequently transformed into a Byzantine fortress, can be seen. From there, the view spans the sea and the foothills of the Dorsal.

Back

Sahel
- site
From / to / : Ouvert au public
From / to / :
5 Dt
Closed Sunday
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Le site de Sidi Khélifa (Pheradi Majus)
 
 

Sidi Khélifa est un bourg rural implanté autour du mausolée du saint patron éponyme qui l’a fondé au XIXe siècle. Ce bourg a fait, au milieu des années 80, l’objet d’une expérience originale : une extension selon les techniques architecturales ancestrales et exclusivement avec les matériaux locaux. (A voir)

Le bourg jouxte un site antique : Pheradi Majus. Les vestiges mis au jour datent des IIe et IIIe siècles. Ce sont, en particulier, la porte triomphale - intacte - qui donne accès au forum bordé de locaux commerciaux, d’un nymphée où sourdait l’eau d’une source, d’un temple capitolin, de thermes, etc.

Au sommet de la colline boisée qui surplombe le site : les parois d’un temple dédié à Venus et transformé en forteresse à l’époque byzantine. De là, la vue porte jusqu’à la mer et aux contreforts de la Dorsale.

Retour

Sahel
- site
Du / au / : Ouvert au public
Du / au / :
5 Dt
Fermé Dimanche
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria