The archaeological site of Mactaris
Makthar
 
 

The archaeological site of Mactaris lies beside the town of Makthar which is, so to speak, a late offshoot, dating to the colonial period, as attested by the few buildings (such as the headquarters of the delegation) or houses with red tiled pitched roofs.

Maktaris is the Latin transposition of the initial place name Mktrm which indicates the Libyc origins of the city, as do indeed, the large number of funerary monuments dating to this civilisation to be found on the site. This is about all that has survived from that period in terms of monuments.

It seems that the foundation of the city itself dates to the lst century BC, with the establishment of Punic or Punic-Numidians who spread the culture and the arts of Carthage in the region in a lasting manner, so that the influence continued after the arrival of the Romans in the early lst century. Yet, most of the archaeological heritage, considered one of the richest and finest of Tunisia dates to the Roman period. The city’s apogee was in the IInd and IIIrd centuries. Its decline began in the IVth century and was precipitated by the Vandal and Byzantine invasions.

A monumental gate, standing today at the entrance of the modern town, welcomes visitors and on the other side of the road, the site itself protected by an enclosure. Within, all the monuments composing a Roman city are to be found, most in a good state of conservation: amphitheatre, baths (4 in all) forum crowned by an imposing triumphal arch dedicated to Trajan, temples, basilicas, crypts, mausoleums and even…a Roman tax office!

A world on its own !

Back

North west
- site
- museum
From 16/09 to 16/06 : 08.30 - 17.30
From 18/07 to 15/09 : 8:30-17:30
From 17/06 to 17/07 : 9:30-16:30 Horaire Ramadan
7 Dt
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Le site archéologique de Mactaris
Makthar
 
 

Le site archéologique de Mactaris jouxte la ville de Makthar qui en est, en quelque sorte, une excroissance tardive, d’époque coloniale, comme en témoignent quelques bâtisses (à l'exemple du siège de la délégation) ou demeures aux toits inclinés recouverts de tuiles rouges.

Mactaris est la transposition latine du toponyme initial : Mktrm, qui témoigne des origines lybiques de la cité, comme en atteste d’ailleurs le grand nombre de monuments funéraires remontant à cette civilisation et qui sont insérés dans le site. C’est à peu près tout ce qui subsiste de cette époque Ier comme legs "monumental".

La fondation de la ville elle-même semble remonter au Ie siècle avant J-C., avec l’installation de colons puniques ou numides punicisés qui répandirent dans la région la religion, la culture et les arts de Carthage, et cela de manière durable. Cette ville a subsisté même après l’arrivée des Romains, au tout début du Ier siècle. C’est, cependant, à l’époque romaine que se rattache l’essentiel d’un patrimoine archéologique considéré comme l’un des plus riches et des plus beaux de Tunisie. La ville connut son apogée aux IIe et IIIe siècles. Son déclin intervint dès le IVe siècle et se précipita avec les invasions vandale et byzantine.

Une porte monumentale, qui campe aujourd’hui à l’entrée de la ville moderne, accueille le visiteur. De l’autre côté de la route, le site à proprement parler est ceint par une clôture. Derrière, tous les monuments qui composent une ville romaine, pour la plupart dans un bel état de conservation : amphithéâtre, thermes (4, en tout), forum couronné par un imposant arc de triomphe dédié à Trajan, temples, basiliques, cryptes, mausolées et même… perception d’impôts romaine!

Tout un monde !..

Retour

Nord Ouest
- site
- musée
Du 16/09 au 16/06 : 08.30 - 17.30
Du 18/07 au 15/09 : 8:30-17:30
7 Dt
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria