The archaeological site of Kerkouane
 
 

This is one of Tunisia’s most precious archaeological sites because so far it is unique. It was founded during the Punic period – perhaps in the Vth century BC – and was never rebuilt by the Romans after the third Punic war that resulted in the annexation of Africa to the Roman Empire, thereby ensuring that the urban fabric of this small, as yet unidentified city remained typically Punic.

Apparently abandoned at the end of the war with Rome before being discovered in the 50’s of the last century, the city had more or less been levelled to the ground. Yet today, the vestiges clearly reveal the plan of a typically Punic city, with the houses neatly outlined and equipped with every facility (bathtubs and ovens included) decorated with primitive mosaic pavements, one of which figures the Punic goddess Tanit.

As a coastal city, Kerkouane had a port, some parts of which have survived. It must have engaged in trade with other Mediterranean ports to which it exported agricultural produce as well as craft products, such as purple dyed cloth, as attested by the dyeing installations discovered near the coast as well as the shops also found in a commercial quarter. A museum, housing some of the objects discovered, is to be found at the entrance of the site.

Back

Cap Bon
- site
- museum
From 16/09 to 16/06 : 09.00 - 16.00
From 18/07 to 15/09 : 09.00 - 18.00
From 17/06 to 17/07 : 9:30-17:00 Horaire Ramadan
7 Dt
Closed on Monday
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Le site archéologique de Kerkouane
 
 

C’est l’un des sites archéologiques les plus précieux de Tunisie, car l’unique, jusqu’à nos jours, dont la fondation remonte à l’époque punique – peut-être au VIe siècle av. J-C. – et que les Romains n’ont pas reconstruit après l'annexion de l'Afrique à l'empire romain, nous léguant ainsi un espace urbain, celui d’une petite cité qui n’a pas encore été identifiée, typiquement punique.

Apparemment abandonnée après sa destruction par le consul romain M. Atilus Regulus en 256 av. J.C avant d’être redécouverte au début des années 50 du siècle dernier, la ville avait été pour ainsi dire arasée. Mais les vestiges nous offrent aujourd’hui le plan d’une cité typiquement punique, avec le tracé très net de maisons dotées de toutes les commodités (baignoires et fours compris), décorées de pavements de mosaïques primitives dont l’une figurant la déesse punique Tanit.

Cité côtière, Kerkouane a été dotée d’un port dont subsistent encore quelques tronçons ; elle devait s’adonner au commerce avec d’autres ports méditerranéens vers lesquelles elle exportait des produits agricoles mais aussi artisanaux, à l’instar de tissus teint en pourpre, des installations de fabrication de cette substance ayant été découvertes près de la côte, de même que les boutiques d’un quartier commerçant. Un musée regroupant quelques objets découverts sur le site, a été erigé à l'entrée.

Retour

Cap Bon
- site
- musée
Du 16/09 au 16/06 : 09.00 - 16.00
Du 18/07 au 15/09 : 09.00 - 18.00
Du 17/06 au 17/07 : 9:30-17:00 Horaire Ramadan
7 Dt
Fermé le Lundi
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria