Bulla Regia
 
 


Bulla (the) Royal. The name seems rather pompous in view of the place this city actually held in history, but it is justified by the fact that Bulla was, during the second century BC, the capital of a Numidian principality that emerged from the dismemberment of Massinissa’s kingdom, the hereditary enemy of the Romans whom they finally defeated.

The foundation of Bulla goes much further back in time than this period, as the megaliths and dolmens spread over the site imply. Similarly, the few vestiges of Punic times testify to the influences of the Carthaginian metropolis on the mostly Numidian population’s lifestyle. It is the Roman occupation, however, that has bequeathed to us most of the vestiges that today are spread over several dozen hectares.

All the components of an ancient Roman city are to be found in Bulla Regia : temples, forum, public baths, theatre etc. Some of these monuments, such as the second century baths, are of a considerable size. But the site’s most original feature are its villas built on several floors: a ground level, at present almost razed, but with some very fine surviving fragments of mosaic pavements, and an underground level, used during the summer to afford protection from the torrid heat prevailing during that time of the year; and thus we have inherited houses that have remained almost intact with superb mosaic pavements, including the outstanding picture of Amphitrite borne by a marine centaur, Neptune and the two winged genies.

Opposite the site lies a rest area with facilities and a small site museum (undergoing refurbishment) containing some of the finds made on the site and shedding meaningful light on some aspects of Numidian civilisation.

Back

Nord west
- site
- museum
From 16/09 to 31/03 : 08.30 - 17.30
From 01/04 to 15/09 : 08.00 - 19.00
7 Dt
01/05 - 30/09 08:00-20:00
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Bulla Regia
 
 


Bulla (la) Royale. L’appellation semble quelque peu pompeuse par rapport à la place réelle occupée par cette cité dans l’histoire, mais elle se justifie par le fait que Bulla a été, au deuxième siècle avant J-C., la capitale d’une principauté numide issue du démembrement du royaume de Massinissa, ennemi héréditaire des Romains qui auraient fini par le battre.

La fondation de Bulla remonte bien plus haut que cette époque, comme en témoignent les mégalithes et dolmens épars sur le site. De même, de maigres vestiges d’époque punique attestent de l’influence de la métropole carthaginoise sur le mode de vie d’une population majoritairement numide. Mais c’est l’occupation romaine qui nous a légué l’essentiel des vestiges qui, aujourd’hui, s’étendent sur plusieurs dizaines d’hectares.

On retrouve à Bulla Regia toutes les composantes de la cité romaine antique : temples, forum, bains publics, théâtre, etc. Certains de ces monuments, comme les thermes érigés au deuxième siècle, sont de taille imposante. Mais la plus grande originalité du site se présente sous forme de villas à étages : un niveau à la surface du sol, aujourd’hui passablement arasé mais dont subsistent de très beaux lambeaux de pavements en mosaïque, et un niveau en sous-sol, fréquenté en été pour lutter contre la chaleur torride qui sévit ici en cette période de l’année ; et cela nous a valu en héritage des demeures quasiment intactes avec de superbes pavements de mosaïque, dont l’éblouissant tableau dit de l’Amphitrite portée par un centaure marin, Neptune et deux génies ailés.

En face du site : une aire de repos avec commodités et un petit musée de site en cours de réaménagement et qui renferme quelques unes des trouvailles faites sur place et éclaire de manière intelligente quelques aspects de la civilisation numide.

Retour

Nord Ouest
- site
- musée
Du 16/09 au 16/06 : 08.30 - 17.30
Du 17/07 au 15/09 : 08.00 - 19.00
Du 17/06 au 17/07 : 8:30-17:00 Horaire Ramadan
7 Dt
01/05 - 30/09 08:00-20:00
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria