The AMVPPC     A wide-ranging activity     Development and promotion      A modernisation strategy
 

Agency for Heritage development and cultural promotion (AMVPPC)

The agency was established in 1988 under the title of National Agency for the Development of Archaeological and Historical heritage (or ANEP), under the law n° 88 of 25 February 1988, modified by the law 97-16 of 3 march 1997.

It is a non-administrative public establishment with a legal personality and financial autonomy subject to commercial law, under the authority of the Ministry of Culture and Heritage Conservation.
The Agency’s mission is to implement Government policy in the various cultural fields, particularly those connected with the presentation and interpretation of archaeological and historical heritage and its management, and to promote intellectual, literary and artistic creativity. Hence it establishes and implements programmes for heritage development and presentation (about sixty sites, monuments and museums), prepares and implements programmes and events of a cultural nature with various partners (in particular the National Heritage Institute) delivers authorizations required for organising cultural, leisure or commercial activities taking place within the confines of sites under its responsibility. The Agency also participates in the development of cultural tourism, promotes national cultural production in all its forms as well as investment in cultural industries.

A wide-ranging activity

Under the director general’s office, the AMVPPC is divided into seven departments: Technical, Cultural promotion, Management, Production and Organisation, Study and Programming, Administration and Finance, Coordination and follow-through.

Since its creation and along with the day-to-day management of activities within its assigned mission, the Agency has embarked on a large-scale scheme to present and promote cultural tourism based on projects with cultural, educational, environmental, social, tourist and economic objectives. Hence, the creation of the Carthage-Sidi Bou Said Archaeological Park; the refurbishment of the Baron d’ Erlanger’s palace in Sidi Bou Said, housing the Centre of Arab and Mediterranean Music; the Archaeological Park of Dougga, which is also the object of a Tunisian-French cooperation programme to support the presentation and interpretation of the site; the Sbeitla-Kasserine Archaeological Park which, for this region in the centre of the country, has created new dynamism in the tourist and economic sphere with a ripple effect on several local sectors of activity. And, of course, the development work underway on the Archaeological Park of Oudna (Uthina).
Similarly, the Agency’s action is directed towards the restoration, presentation, and interpretation of many sites and monuments in the urban and near-urban context, its major project being the restoration of several sections of the Zaghouan to Carthage Roman aqueduct.
A key part of the heritage the AMVPPC was entrusted to manage are the museums, the older ones of which have been rehabilitated, like the famous Bardo Museum, the museums of Enfidha, Nabeul and El Jem, as well the Popular Arts and Traditions museums of Monastir and Houmt-Souk in Jerba. The creation of new museums in Moknine, Chemtou, Mahdia and the Sahara museum in Douz has enriched the museum network. The Agency has also participated in the creation and design of museums for third parties: the National Military Museum (Ksar el Ouerda), the Mareth Line museum, the National Guard Museum and the Film museum.

Development and promotion

New sites have been opened to visitors since the Agency’s creation: the Ancient El Haouaria quarries, the Christian catacombs in Sousse, the sites of Pheradi Majus, Neapolis and the Snailery in Gafsa. The same applies to monuments, including the Citadels of Hammamet, Tabarka, Kelibia, Ghazi Mustapha in Jerba and Mahdia, as well as the El Jem amphitheatre, the Ribat and the Great Mosque of Sousse and the Ribat of Monastir. In this domain, the Agency participates in the efforts of third parties pursuing the same objectives.

The Agency has introduced signage on sites to facilitate access to and the visit of sites and monuments and has also created visitors’ centres.
To present and highlight the architectural characteristics of a certain number of monuments, the AMVPPC has introduced artistic illumination at night.
The other aspects of the AMVPPC’s action are: promotion of cultural tourism within the context of a national plan drawn up in May 1999, involving different partners; promotion through cultural products, in particular publishing in all its forms; active participation in the celebration of Heritage Month and in thematic exhibitions both in Tunisia and abroad.

A modernisation strategy

Within the framework of the application of a global modernisation strategy of the culture and heritage sector and the consolidation of cultural tourism, the Tunisian government, with the support of the World Bank, launched a project in 2002 for a global amount of 33 million dinars, for the management and enhancement of cultural heritage.

This five year project will seek to strengthen the legal and institutional framework and the commercialisation of tourist and cultural products and, finally, the refurbishment and the management of six selected sites : Carthage, Bardo Museum, Sousse Museum, the Medina of Kairouan, the archaeological site of Oudna and the island of Jerba. A unit operating within the AMVPPC is responsible for the project’s implementation.ch

L'AMVPPC     Une action de grande envergure     Mise en valeur et promotion     Une stratégie de modernisation
 

L’Agence de Mise en Valeur du Patrimoine et de Promotion Culturelle (AMVPPC)

Elle a été créée en 1988 sous la dénomination d’Agence Nationale de Mise en Valeur et d’Exploitation du Patrimoine Archéologique et Historique (ou ANEP), en vertu de la loi n° 88 du 25 février 1988, modifiée par la loi 97-16, du 3 mars 1997.

C’est un établissement public à caractère non administratif doté de la personnalité civile et de l’autonomie financière, et soumis à la législation commerciale, placé sous la tutelle du Ministère de la Culture et de la Sauvegarde du Patrimoine.
L’Agence a pour mission d’exécuter la politique de l’Etat dans les divers domaines culturels, notamment, mise en valeur du patrimoine archéologique et historique et à sa gestion, et de promouvoir la créativité intellectuelle, littéraire et artistique. Elle arrête et exécute ainsi les programmes de mise en valeur de ce patrimoine (une soixantaine de sites, monuments et musées), organise les manifestations à caractère culturel avec les divers partenaires (notamment l'Institut National du Patrimoine), délivre les autorisations nécessaires à l’organisation d’activités à caractère culturel, ludique ou commercial qui se déroulent dans l’enceinte des espaces relevant de sa tutelle. L'Agence contribue également au développement du tourisme culturel, tout en œuvrant à la promotion de la production culturelle nationale sous toutes ses formes et des investissements dans le domaine des industries culturelles.

Une action de grande envergure

L’AMVPPC, coiffée par la direction générale, se divise en sept directions : Technique, Promotion Culturelle, Exploitation, Production et Animation, Etudes et Programmation, Administration et Finances, Coordination et Suivi.

Depuis sa création et concouramment à la gestion quotidienne du domaine qui lui a été dévolu, l’Agence a entrepris une action de grande envergure de mise en valeur et de promotion du tourisme culturel qui s’appuie sur de grands projets répondant à des objectifs culturels, éducatifs, environnementaux, sociaux, touristiques et économiques. Aussi en est-il de la création du Parc Archéologique de Carthage-Sidi Bou Saïd, de l’aménagement du palais du Baron d’Erlanger à Sidi Bou Saïd qui abrite le Centre des Musiques Arabes et Méditerranéennes, du Parc Archéologique de Dougga qui bénéficie par ailleurs d’un programme de coopération tuniso-française pour soutenir la mise en valeur du site, du Parc Archéologique Sbeïtla-Kasserine qui a engendré dans cette région du centre du pays une dynamique touristique et économique qui a eu un effet d’entraînement sur plusieurs secteurs d’activités locales sans oublier les travaux d'aménagement et de mise en valeur du Parc archéologique d'Uthina.
De même, l’Agence intervient pour la restauration et la mise en valeur de nombreux sites et monuments en milieu urbain ou périurbain. Son action de plus grande envergure étant la restauration et la mise en valeur de plusieurs tronçons des aqueducs romains Zaghouan-Carthage.
Pièce maîtresse du patrimoine hérité par l’AMVPPC, le parc muséographique a vu ses installations les plus anciennes réhabilitées, à l’instar du célèbre musée du Bardo, de ceux d’Enfidha, de Nabeul et d’El Jem, ainsi que des musées des arts et traditions populaires de Monastir et de Houmt-Souk à Djerba. Le réseau des musées a été enrichi par la création de nouvelles unités à Moknine, Chemtou, Mahdia et à Douz. L’Agence a également participé à la création et à l’aménagement de musées pour des tiers : le Musée Militaire National (Ksar el Ouerda), le musée de la ligne Mareth, le musée de la Garde Nationale, et celui du Cinéma.

Mise en valeur et promotion

De nouveaux sites ont également été ouverts au grand public depuis la création de l’Agence : Les carrières antiques d’El Haouaria, les Catacombes Chrétiennes de Sousse, les sites de Phéradi Maïus, de Néapolis ou l’Escargotière de Gafsa. Il en est de même pour de nombreux monuments, dont la Citadelle de Hammamet, celles de Tabarka, de Kélibia, de Ghazi Mustapha à Djerba, de Mahdia ou encore l’Amphithéâtre d’El Jem, le Ribat et la Grande Mosquée de Sousse et le Ribat de Monastir. Dans ce domaine, l’Agence participe aussi aux efforts entrepris pas des parties privées dans le même sens.

Sur le terrain, l’Agence a introduit la signalétique pour faciliter l’accès et la visite des sites et monuments, et a aménagé des structures d’accueil.
Pour mettre en valeur et souligner les caractéristiques architecturales d’un certain nombre de monuments, l’AMVPPC a mis en place leur illumination artistique de nuit.
Autres volets dans l’action menée par l’AMVPPC : la promotion du tourisme culturel dans le cadre d’un plan national arrêté en mai 1999 et qui implique divers partenaires, la promotion par les produits culturels, en particulier, l’édition sous toutes ses formes, la participation active à la célébration du mois du Patrimoine et aux expositions thématiques, en Tunisie et à l’étranger.

Une stratégie de modernisation

Dans le cadre de l’application d’une stratégie globale de modernisation du secteur de la culture et du patrimoine, et de la consolidation du tourisme culturel, l’Etat tunisien, avec l’appui de la Banque Mondiale, a initié en 2002, un projet d’un montant global de 19.2 millions d'euros, destiné à la gestion et à la valorisation du patrimoine culturel.

Ce projet, d’une durée de cinq ans, porte sur le renforcement du cadre juridique et institutionnel, le développement et la commercialisation des produits touristiques et culturels et, enfin, l’aménagement et la gestion de six sites sélectionnés : Carthage, musée du Bardo, musée de Sousse, la médina de Kairouan, le site archéologique d’Oudhna et l’île de Djerba.
Une unité de projet établie au sein de l’AMVPPC assume la responsabilité de l’exécution de ce projet.