Title :
The Ribat of Monastir
Author : Neji Djelloul
Format :
15 x 28 cm
Number of pages :
16
Language :
French/English/Arabic/Italian/Spanish/German
Edition :
2008
Public Price :
2 DT
Quantity :
   
Founded in 796, under the reign of the great Abbasid caliph Harum al-Rashid, the ribat of Monastir is one of the most prestigious monuments of medieval Islam. A tradition attributed to the prophet Mohammed assimilated it to a door to paradise.
The original building was in the form of a square fort flanked with round towers at each corner. The watchtower from which light signals were sent stood in the south-east corner. The prayer room, which has now been converted into a museum, houses a rich collection of pieces of Tunisian and Egyptian origin.
Successive additions (IXth, XIth, XVth century) turned the original small fort into an imposing citadel, flanked with bastions and with a total of eight prayer rooms, their number confirming the twofold religious and military purpose of the monument.
The ascetics forming the garrison in the ribat were, indeed, fervent proponents of orthodox Islam. In exchange for privileges granted by the authorities, they took responsibility for the surveillance of the coastline in order to prevent raids by Christian fleets. The ribat was also the centre of intensive agricultural activities and housed merchants and travellers on the last leg of their journey.
 

 

 
 Back

Titre :
Le Ribat de Monastir
Auteur : Neji Djelloul
Format :
15 x 28 cm
Nombre de pages :
16
Langue :
Français/Anglais/Italien/Espagnol/Allemand
Edition :
2008
Prix de vente public :
2 DT
Quantité :
   
Fondé en 796, sous le règne du grand calife abbasside Harun al-Rashid, le ribat de Monastir est l’un des plus prestigieux monuments de l’Islam médiéval. Une tradition attribuée au prophète Muhammad l’assimilait à une porte du paradis.
Le château primitif dessine un fortin carré flanqué de tours rondes aux angles. A l’angle Sud-Est s’élève la tour-vigie destinée aux signaux lumineux. Son oratoire, transformé de nos jours en musée, abrite une riche collection de pièces provenant de Tunisie et d’Egypte.
Les adjonctions successives (IXeme-XIeme-XVeme siècle) firent du retranchement primitif une puissante citadelle, flanquée de bastions et de tours, dotée de huit oratoires. Leur nombre élevé confirme la vocation à fois religieuse et militaire du monument.
Les ascètes qui tenaient garnison dans le ribat étaient, en effet, des fervent propagateurs de l’islam orthodoxe. En contrepartie des privilèges accordés par le pouvoir, ils assuraient, en outre, la surveillance des côtes afin de prévenir les décentes des flottes chrétiennes. Le ribat était, aussi, le centre d’une intense activité agricole et recevait les marchands et les voyageurs en fin d’étape.
 

 

 
 Retour