Sousse archaeology Museum
 
 

The Sousse Archeology Museum is located within the Kasbah (fortification) of the medina (old city) of Sousse, a World Heritage Site.

At the entrance of the museum, a large vaulted room displays the history and the monuments of the Sahel region from Antiquity to the Muslim period.
Located under the Kasbah’s main courtyard, the museum galleries cover an area of approximately 2,000 sq. meters, benefitting from natural and artificial light enhancing the beauty of the collections and their display. The museum includes mosaics, sculptures, lapidaries, and terracotta funerary objects, originating from a number of sites of the ancient Sahel region.

The mosaic floorings of Roman origin, which constitute one of the most important collections of the Mediterranean, are displayed at a level lower than the visitors’ or are fixed on panels. These mosaics, through their vibrant colors and their artistic compositions, illustrate beliefs, games, the arts, and, most of all, daily life.
Three rooms display in dim light the funerary rituals of the Punic, Roman and Christian periods.

The Punic room displays the famous collection of steles and urns found in the Tophet of Sousse, the antic Adrim (Hadrumete), as well as the objects from the tombs discovered in the Kasbah.

In the Roman room, a collection of pagan funerary steles is displayed next to a collection of terra-sigillata items discovered in Sousse and its surrounding area, as well as terracotta figurines, among which the famous “drunken woman”.


The circuit ends with the Christian room, which displays a collection of funerary mosaics and steles discovered within the underground catacombs of Sousse, the second largest of the antic world after Rome. In the middle of the room stands the famous mensa-mosaic (funerary table) of Hermes.
Outside the Museum, the medieval fortress, an historic monument, offers recreational areas and panoramic views on the Medina.

Back

Sahel
- Ribat
- Mosque
- Medina
From 16/09 to 18/07 : 8.00-17.30
From 18/07 to 15/09 : 09.00 - 19.00
From 17/06 to 17/07 : 8:00-17:00 Horaire Ramaden
9 Dt
Ouvert toute la semaine
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria
- Elevator
- Parking

Musée Archéologique de Sousse
 
 

La médina de Sousse, inscrite sur la liste du patrimoine mondial, accueille, à l’intérieur de sa Kasbah médiévale, le nouveau Musée Archéologique de Sousse.
A l’entrée du Musée, dans la grande salle voutée de l’accueil, sont présentés l’histoire et les monuments du Sahel de l’antiquité à l’époque musulmane.
Situées sous la grande cour de la Kasbah, les salles souterraines du Musée atteignent 2000m de superficie et baignent dans une lumière, artificielle et naturelle, qui contribue à la mise en scène des collections et des ambiances scénographiques des différents espaces. Les collections, composées de mosaïques, de sculptures, de lapidaires et de mobiliers en céramique proviennent de plusieurs sites du Sahel antique.

La collection de mosaïques de sol d’époque romaine, exposées en contrebas des circulations ou fixées sur des cimaises, est une des plus importantes du monde méditerranéen. Ces mosaïques évoquent dans des couleurs chatoyantes et des compositions artistiques, les croyances, les jeux, l’activité artistique et plus particulièrement la vie quotidienne.

Trois salles présentent, dans une ambiance de pénombre, les rituels funéraires des époques lybico punique, romaine et de l’antiquité tardive chrétienne.
La salle libyco-punique accueille la fameuse collection de stèles et d’urnes du Tophet de Sousse, l’antique Adrim (Hadrumète) ainsi que le mobilier des tombes découvertes à l’intérieur de la Kasbah.

Dans la salle romaine, une collection de stèles funéraires païennes côtoie une collection de sigillée claire, découverte à Sousse et dans sa région ainsi que des statuettes en terre cuite dont la fameuse « femme ivre ».


Le parcours s’achève avec la salle chrétienne, où est présentée une collection de mosaïques, de stèles et de reliefs funéraires, exhumés dans les sous sols des catacombes de Sousse, les plus importantes du monde antique après celles du Rome. Au milieu de la salle est installée la fameuse mosaïquemensa (table funéraire) d’Hermès.
A l’extérieur du Musée la forteresse médiévale, monument historique, offre aux visiteurs des espaces de promenade et des vues panoramiques sur la Médina.

Retour

Sahel
- Ribat
- Mosquée
- Medina
Du 16/09 au 31/03 : 8.00-17.30
Du 01/04 au 15/09 : 09.00 - 19.00
9 Dt
Ouvert toute la semaine
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria
- Assenceurs
- Parking