The Sidi Amor Abada Museum
Kairouan
 
 

This is certainly one of the most unusual places in Kairouan and even in Tunisia. The museum was established in a zawiya – mausoleum – built in 1872 and containing the tomb of a very unusual figure : Amor Abada, better known under the respectful name of Sidi Abada.


First the building: it consists of a vast architectural complex crowned with seven ribbed cupolas in a style, known to Kairouan for a thousand years although, cupolas were never used in such great numbers. This explains the monument’s singular aspect, and gives it an appearance of great solemnity.

Now the content: a large room in the building contains objects that belonged to Sidi Abada or that he made himself. The guide says : “These objects were completely dysfunctional, they are giant sized…giant anchors intended, it is said, to protect Kairouan and keep it anchored to the country, very heavy swords, a colossal pipe, very heave bronze pestles… All these items bear engraved inscriptions.. they tell the life story of the man himself”.

It must be said that the man was equally strange “out of the ordinary, enigmatic, a surprising strength of character and faith, excessive in power and grandeur…both venerated and feared”.

Sidi Amor Abada was a master blacksmith, possessed by a mystic drive and troubled by the state of decay in which the country had fallen just before the French colonial expedition (April-May 1881). He expressed his anguish and fantasies through his extravagant creations.

Back

Center
The Sidi Amor Abada Museum
The Raqqada National Museum of Islamic art
The Great Mosque of Kairouan
The Sidi Abid al-Ghariani Mausoleum
The Aghlabid basins
From 16/09 to 16/06 : 09.00 - 16.00
From 17/07 to 31/09 : 08.00 - 14:00
From 17/06 to 17/07 : 8:00-14:00 Horaire Ramadan
10 Dt
Grouped ticket
Closed on Sunday
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Musée de Sidi Amor Abada
Kairouan
 
 

C’est, assurément, l’un des endroits les plus curieux de Kairouan et même de Tunisie. Ce musée a été aménagé dans une zaouia -mausolée- érigée en 1872 et qui abrite le tombeau d’un personnage tout aussi curieux : Amor Abada, plus connu par l’appellation révérencieuse de Sidi Abada.

L’édifice, tout d’abord : il se présente sous la forme d’un vaste ensemble architectural surmonté de 7 coupoles côtelées d’un style, il est vrai, connu à Kairouan depuis un millénaire. Cependant, les coupoles n’ont jamais été utilisées en aussi grand nombre. Voilà qui donne au monument un air singulier, empreint d’une grave solennité.

Le contenu, ensuite : dans une grande salle de cet édifice ont été regroupés des objets ayant appartenu à Sidi Abada ou ayant été fabriqués par lui-même. Le guide en dit : « Ces objets sont démesurément peu fonctionnels, ils sont de taille géante… des ancres géantes destinées, dit–on, à protéger Kairouan et à la maintenir soudée au pays, de très lourds sabres, une pipe colossale, de très lourds pilons en bronze… Toutes ces pièces portent des inscriptions gravées en creux… un récit de la vie même de ce personnage ».

Il faut dire que le personnage est singulier, lui aussi, « hors du commun, énigmatique, d’une étonnante force de caractère et de foi, excessif de puissance et de grandeur… vénéré et craint à la fois ».

Maître forgeron de son état, Sidi Amor Abada était porté par un élan mystique que troublait l’état de déliquescence dans lequel était entré le pays à la veille de l’expédition coloniale française (avril - mai 1881). Et il devait exprimer ses angoisses et ses fantasmes sous forme de créations extravagantes.

Retour

Centre
- Grande Mosquée
- Mausolée Sidi Amor Abada
- Mausolée Sidi Sahbi
- Bassin des Aghlabides
Du 16/09 au 16/06 : 09.00 - 16.00
Du 17/07 au 31/09 : 08.00 - 14:00
Du 17/06 au 17/07 : 8:00-14:00 Horaire Ramadan
10 Dt
Billet Groupé
Fermé le dimanche
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria