The Nabeul Museum
 
 

Housed in a modest house in the centre of town, the museum has just been totally refurbished so that it can now attractively display one of the finest collections of objects coming from the various sites on Cape Bon.

Essentially, the collection comprises objects originating from either the necropolises, or vestiges of ruined houses. Therefore, funerary furnishings constitute most of the ordinary or ceremonial objects to be found in the showcases. The mosaic pavements are the most eloquent in evoking the beliefs, but also the lifestyle prevailing during Roman times in this “Beautiful Promontory” (Pulchri Promontorium).

The repertory of mosaics is rich and varied and includes rare specimens with themes based on mythology from Antiquity.

There are also some outstanding marble sculptures dating to the Roman period, as well as a collection of terracotta objects from a sanctuary dedicated to the Punic gods Baal Hammon and Tanit, attesting to a complex syncretism and that are of exceptional size for terracotta artefacts.

Back

Cap Bon
- Site
- Museum
From 16/09 to 16/06 : 09.30 - 16.30
From 18/07 to 15/09 : 09.00 - 13.00 / 16.00 - 19.00
From 17/06 to 17/07 : 9:00-16:00 Horaire Ramadan
7 Dt
Closed on monday
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Musée de Nabeul
 
 

Installé dans une modeste demeure du centre ville, ce musée vient de faire l’objet d’une rénovation totale qui lui permet de présenter au public, de façon attrayante, l’une des plus belles collections d’objets en provenance de divers sites du Cap Bon.

Pour l’essentiel, cette collection comprend des objets en provenance, soit de nécropoles, soit de vestiges d’habitations arasées. De ce fait, c’est le mobilier funéraire qui fournit la plus grande part des objets usuels ou d’apparat qui garnissent les vitrines. Les pavements de mosaïques constituent les témoignages les plus «parlants» pour raconter les croyances, mais aussi le mode de vie qui prévalait à l’époque romaine dans ce «Beau Promontoire» (Pulchri Promontorium).

Riche et varié, le répertoire des mosaïques comprend de rares spécimens dont les thèmes renvoient aux mythes de l’Antiquité.

A signaler également de superbes sculptures en marbre fin datant de l’époque romaine, ainsi que cette collection de terres cuites en provenance d’un sanctuaire dédié aux dieux puniques Baâl Hammon et Tanit, qui témoignent d’un syncrétisme complexe et se caractérisent par des dimensions exceptionnelles pour des œuvres de terre cuite.

Retour

Cap Bon
- site
- musée
Du 16/09 au 16/06 : 09.30 - 16.30
Du 18/07 au 15/09 : 09.00 - 13.00 / 16.00 - 19.00
Du 17/06 au 17/07 : 9:00-16:00 Horaire Ramadan
7 Dt
Fermé Lundi Tel:72285509
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria