Kerkouane archaeological Museum
 
 

This small museum was built at the entrance of the Punic archaeological site of Kerkouane. The particularity of the museum is due to the site, for it is the only known Punic city not to have been rebuilt after its destruction in the IIIrd century BC and consequently it provide a unique picture of a Punic city.

If the site reflects the picture of a Punic city, the museum reveals many aspects of everyday life, of economic and commercial activities, and of spiritual life, thanks to the numerous objects found buried under the remains or placed in tombs.

The collections are, of course, mainly Punic. But there are also objects on display originating from several Mediterranean countries, in particular Greece for decorative objects (vases, lamps etc) and Egypt for religious objects (seals, amulets, figurines etc.) that attest to the intense maritime activity of Carthaginian sailors.
Some objects come from excavations carried out in Punic necropolises in the surrounding countryside.

Back

Cap Bon
- site
- museum
From 16/09 to 16/06 : 09.00 - 16.00
From 18/07 to 15/09 : 09.00 - 18.00
From 17/06 to 17/07 : 9:30-17:00 Horaire Ramadan
7 Dt
Closed Monday
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Musée archéologique de Kerkouane
 
 

Ce petit musée a été implanté à l’entrée du site archéologique punique de Kerkouane. Sa spécificité, ce musée la tire du fait que ce site est l’unique connu comme n’ayant pas été reconstruit après sa destruction, au IIIe siècle av. J.C. et de ce fait, le seul à nous restituer l’image d’une cité punique.

Si le site reflète l’image d’une ville punique, le musée, lui, grâce aux nombreux objets qui y ont été retrouvés, enfouis sous les remblais ou déposés dans des sépultures, nous dévoile de nombreux aspects de la vie de tous les jours, des activités économiques et commerciales de la cité, de sa vie spirituelle, etc.

 

L’essentiel des collections est, bien évidemment, punique. Mais on trouve aussi dans ce musée des objets en provenance de plusieurs pays méditerranéens, de Grèce, en particulier, pour les objets décoratifs (vases, lampes etc.) et d’Egypte pour les objets de culte (sceaux, amulettes, figurines pieuses etc.) qui temoignent de l'intense activité maritime des marins carthaginois.

Quelques objets, enfin, proviennent de fouilles effectuées dans des nécropoles puniques du voisinage.

 

Retour

Cap Bon
- site
- musée
Du 16/09 au 16/06 : 09.00 - 16.00
Du 18/07 au 15/09 : 09.00 - 18.00
Du 17/06 au 17/07 : 9:30-17:00 Horaire Ramadan
7 Dt
Fermé Lundi
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria