El Jem Museum
 
 

Specialists recommend a visit to this museum before visiting other vestiges of the ancient city of Thysdrus, now known as El Jem. The museum contains many architectonic elements that belonged to the decoration of the city’s superb villas and public buildings and in particular, the sumptuous mosaic pavements, undoubtedly amongst the finest of Roman antiquity.

The museum was built on the site of a roman villa and reproduces its layout: a central courtyard with a peristyle leading into the rooms where sculptures, mosaics, ceramics etc are displayed. These originate from the excavation campaigns carried out in Thysdrus as well as in the vicinity.

The museum has recently acquired a new wing illustrating in a very eloquent manner the richness and diversity of crafts during the roman period.

The museum leads directly into an “archaeological park” including vestiges of the villa known as that of the peacock and of Sollertiana. It is a splendid patrician dwelling with a number of its mosaic pavements conserved in sit. The same area contains a reconstruction to scale of the “house of Africa”, a sumptuous aristocratic dwelling built around 170 AD and discovered by chance in the 1990s. It takes its name from the two mosaic pictures figuring, within a central medallion, one goddess Africa, the other the province of Africa, the only known representations of the African continent.

Back

Center
- amphitheatre
- museum
From 16/09 to 31/03 : 08.00 - 17.00
From 01/04 to 30/04 : 08.00 - 18.30
From 01/05 to 30/05 : 07.30 - 19.00
10 Dt
Grouped ticket
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Musée d’El Jem
 
 

Les spécialistes recommandent la visite de ce musée avant celles des autres vestiges de la cité antique de Thysdrus – aujourd’hui, El Jem –. C’est que cet espace recueille de nombreux éléments architectoniques qui entraient dans la décoration des somptueuses demeures et édifices publics thysdritains, en particulier, les éblouissants pavements de mosaïques, assurément parmi les plus beaux de l’Antiquité romaine.

Le musée a été aménagé à l’emplacement d’une villa romaine dont il restitue l’organisation spatiale : une cour centrale entourée d’un péristyle – préau – qui donne accès aux chambres. Là, sont exposés des objets – sculptures, tableaux en mosaïque, céramique, etc. – provenant de campagnes de fouilles menées à Thysdrus aussi bien que dans les environs de la cité.

Depuis peu, cet espace a été enrichi par une nouvelle aile qui illustre de manière très éloquente la richesse et la diversité de l’artisanat de l’époque romaine.

Le musée donne directement accès à un « parc archéologique » comprenant les vestiges de la villa dite du paon et de Sollertiana, une superbe demeure patricienne qui conserve in situ nombre de ses pavements en mosaïque. Dans la même aire, il a été procédé à la reconstitution, grandeur nature, de « la maison d’Africa », une somptueuse demeure aristocratique édifiée vers les années 170 ap. J.C. découverte fortuitement dans les années 1990 et qui tire son appellation de deux tableaux en mosaïque figurant, dans leur médaillon central, l’un la déesse Africa, l’autre la province d’Afrique, seules représentations connues du continent africain.

Retour

Centre
- amphithéâtre
- musée
Du 16/09 au 31/03 : 08.00 - 17.00
Du 01/04 au 30/04 : 08.00 - 18.30
10 Dt
Billet Groupé
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria