The Great Mosque of Kairouan
 
 

This is undoubtedly the most ancient Islamic religious building in the Moslem West. It was built in 670 during the first campaign to annex Ifriqiya to the emerging Moslem empire. After having chosen the location of the “military camp”- al qayrawan - on the edge of the northern foothills, where he established his troupes after the first victorious offensive, general Okba Ibn Nafaa proceeded to build a seat for the government of the province of Ifriqiya and an oratory of mud-bricks, which, in the IXth century, after being remodelled several times, took on more or less the aspect the Great Mosque has retained to this day.

The Great Mosque of Kairouan is a singular monument, its perfect harmony masking a unique architectural “syncretism”. Indeed, the building materials used for its construction all came from ancient sites dating to different periods predating the Islamic conquest, yet the general aspect of the building, in particular the minaret, reflects distant oriental influences. It forms an original whole, its sober features not lacking in elegance.

As for its internal decoration, it can be termed as exuberant: a true explosion of geometric and floral motifs carved in fine marble decorates the mihrab façade, the niche indicating the direction of Mecca, or carved on the precious wooden panels composing the minbar, the preacher’s pulpit.

Back

 

Kairouan
The Sidi Amor Abada Museum
The Raqqada National Museum of Islamic art
The Great Mosque of Kairouan
The Sidi Abid al-Ghariani Mausoleum
The Aghlabid basins
From 16/09 to 16/06 : 08.00 - 14.00
From 17/07 to 15/09 : 07.30 - 14.00
From 17/06 to 17/07 : 8:00-14:00 Horaire Ramadan
10 Dt
Grouped ticket
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

La Grande Mosquée de Kairouan
 
 

C’est, incontestablement, le plus ancien édifice religieux islamique érigé dans l’Occident musulman.

C’était en 670, lors de la première campagne en vue de l’annexion de l’Ifriqiya à l’empire musulman naissant. Après avoir choisi, à la lisière des contreforts montagneux du nord du pays, l’emplacement du «cantonnement» - al qayrawân - dans lequel il installa ses troupes dans la foulée d’une première offensive victorieuse, le général Okba Ibn Nafaa s’empressa d’y ériger un siège pour le gouvernement de la province ifriqiyenne et un oratoire en briques crues qui, au IXe siècle, après plusieurs réaménagements et à quelques détails près, se présentera sous l’apparence que nous connaissons aujourd’hui à la Grande Mosquée.

Monument singulier, que cette Grande Mosquée de Kairouan dont la parfaite harmonie cache à la perfection un « synchrétisme » architectural unique dans son genre.

Les matériaux qui ont servi à sa construction proviennent tous, en effet, de sites antiques appartenant à diverses époques antérieures à la conquête islamique, cependant que l’allure générale de l’édifice, en particulier, le minaret, reflète une lointaine influence orientale. Le tout forme un ensemble original, aux traits sobres mais non dépourvus d’élégance.

S’agissant de la décoration intérieure, il faut parler d’exubérance : une véritable explosion de motifs géométriques et floraux taillés dans le marbre fin qui décore la façade du mihrâb, la niche qui indique la direction de la Mecque, ou gravés dans les panneaux de bois précieux qui composent le minbar, chaire pour le prêche.

Retour

 

Kairouan
- Mausolée Sidi Amor Abada
- Bassins Aghlabides
- Mausolée Sidi Sahbi
- Mausolée Sidi Abid
- Musée Raqqada
Du 16/09 au 16/06 : 08.00 - 14.00
Du 17/07 au 15/09 : 07.30 - 14.00
Du 17/06 au 17/07 : 8:00-14:00 Horaire Ramadan
10 Dt
Billet Groupé
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria