The Zitouna Mosque
Tunis
 
 

The mosque is at the heart of the city of Tunis, the core around which the city such as we know it today has developed.

It is said that originally the site was occupied by the retreat of a Christian monk and that nearby there was an olive tree, hence the name of the sanctuary: jemaa ez Zitouna or the mosque of the olive tree. Its foundation is dated precisely to the year 732 AD, but the mosque was rebuilt in the mid IXth century. Since, it underwent several modifications, each dynasty seeking to improve the appearance or the functionality of what some consider to be the first Islamic university. The last work dates to the XIXth century with the remodelling of the minaret, which stands 44 meters high.

Consequently, the monument reflects the evolution of the art of building in the country since the early middle ages and even further back, if one takes account of the reclaimed materials from antiquity that are part of the building, such as the sculpted marble lintels or the forest of columns and capitals supporting the prayer room ceiling or the external galleries mostly dating to the Roman and Byzantine periods.

Besides the prayer room, the courtyard and its surrounding galleries giving access to the monument constituting the main body of the building – the Zitouna mosque has ancillary rooms and outbuildings, such as the midha, for ablutions or the library, founded in 1450.

Back

Tunis
-Medina
From / to / :
From / to / :
5 Dt
Closed
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

La mosquée Ezzitouna
Tunis
 
 

C’est le nombril de la ville de Tunis, le noyau autour duquel s’est développé la ville telle que nous la connaissons aujourd’hui.

On dit qu’à l’origine il y avait là la retraite d’un moine chrétien et qu’à proximité de cette retraite il y avait un olivier, d’où l’appellation du sanctuaire : jemaâ ez Zitouna ou mosquée de l’Olivier. La fondation de celle-ci est très exactement datée : l’an 732 de l’ère chrétienne ; mais la mosquée a été reconstruite au milieu du IXe siècle. Depuis, elle a connu plusieurs réaménagements, chaque dynastie tenant à améliorer l’esthétique ou le fonctionnement de ce que d’aucuns considèrent comme la première université islamique, et la dernière intervention en date remonte au XIXe siècle avec le remodelage du minaret, haut de 44 mètres.

De ce fait, ce monument reflète à sa manière l’évolution de l’art de bâtir dans ce pays depuis le haut Moyen-age, et plus haut encore si l’on considère les matériaux de remploi antiques intégrés dans l’édifice, tels quelques linteaux de marbre sculptés ou la forêt de colonnes et de chapiteaux qui soutiennent le plafond de la salle des prière où les préaux de galeries extérieures, pour la plupart, d’époque romaine et byzantine.

Outre la salle de prière, la cour et les préaux qui l’entourent et donnent accès au monument - ce qui constitue le corps central de l’édifice-, la mosquée de la Zitouna a été dotée d’annexes et de dépendances, telle la mîdha, pour les ablutions, ou la bibliothèque, fondée en 1450.

Retour

Tunis
-Médina
Du / au / :
Du / au / :
5 Dt
Actuellement fermé
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria