Borj el Kebir
Mahdia
 
 

This borj, also called Kasbah, is a fortress built at the end of the XVIth century on the site of the former Fatimid palace and is considered one of the finest specimens of Ottoman military architecture.

Built on a quadrangular plan and later endowed with corner bastions, the building is surrounded by strong walls originally with one entrance only (after it was turned into a prison, another access was added in the XIXth century). This door leads through a vaulted and elbowed passage, into a courtyard onto which various vaulted rooms open. In the south-eastern corner of the courtyard, an earlier oratory was conserved and integrated into the building.

From the wall-walk, converted to a terrace, there is a lovely view over the tip of the Cape Mahdia promontory and, closer to the monument, over the ancient harbour basin that certain specialists date to the Punic period.

Back

Centre
- Museum
From 16/09 to 16/06 : 9:00-16:00
From 18/07 to 15/09 : 09:00-19:00
From 16/06 to 17/07 : 9:30-17:00 Horaire Ramadan
7 Dt
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Borj el Kébir
Mahdia
 
 

Ce borj, encore appelé Kasbah, est une forteresse qui a été érigée à la fin du XVIe siècle à l’emplacement d’un ancien palais fatimide et est considéré comme l’un des plus beaux spécimens de l’architecture militaire ottomane.

Fondé sur un plan quadrangulaire et plus tard doté de bastions d’angles, l’édifice est ceint d’une puissante muraille à l’origine percée d’une seule entrée (après sa réaffectation à usage de prison, un autre accès y a été aménagé au XIXe siècle). Cette porte donne accès, par un passage voûté et coudé, à une cour sur laquelle donnent des salles, voûtées elles aussi.

A l’angle sud-est de cette cour, un oratoire de construction antérieure qui a été sauvegardé et intégré dans l’édifice.

Du chemin de ronde aménagé en terrasse, on a une très belle vue sur l’extrémité du promontoire de Cap Mahdia et, plus près du monument, sur le bassin d’un port antique que certains spécialistes font remonter à l’époque punique.

Retour

Centre
- Musée
Du 16/09 au 16/06 : 9:00-16:00
Du 18/07 au 15/09 : 09:00-19:00
Du 16/06 au 17/07 : 9:30-17:00 Horaire Ramadan
7 Dt
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria