Park of the Antonine Baths
 
 

This is the richest and most imposing complex of the archaeological site of Carthage. It consists of the baths themselves, located on the shore, not far from the ancient port installations, and in the opposite direction, of gardens enclosing vestiges dating to different periods of Antiquity.

The baths are considered to be amongst the largest of Roman Africa. They were completed under the reign of emperor Antoninus, in 165 AD, after 15 years of construction that started under the reign of Hadrian. The monument stood three levels high and was surmounted by many cupolas. Today, all that remains of this magnificent building are a few clusters of ruins, in particular of the lower level, once occupied by the attendants and services, yet, they provide an idea of the grandeur and majesty of the building. Signage on the ground and elaborate signposting facilitate the visit.

The latter also facilitates the visit of the second part of the park, extending away from the sea and comprising a VIIth century Christian chapel, a “scola” or seat of a IVth century religious association, the Dermech I basilica and the Punic necropolis, to mention only the main monuments.

Back

Tunis / Cartahge
Park of the Antonine Baths
The Roman theatre of Carthage
The Carthage Tophet
Roman villas of Carthage
The Roman amphitheatre of Carthage The Carthage Early Christian Museum
The Museum
The archaelogical site
From 16/09 to 16/06 : 08.30 - 17.00
From 17/07 to 15/09 : 08.00 - 19.00
From 17/06 to 17/07 : 08.00 - 17.00 (Horaire Ramaden )
10 Dt
Grouped ticket
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Le « parc » des thermes d’Antonin
 
 

C’est l’ensemble le plus imposant et le plus riche du site archéologique de Carthage. Il se compose des thermes proprement dits, situés en bord de mer, non loin d’anciennes installations portuaires et, dans la direction opposée, de jardins renfermant des vestiges remontant à diverses époques de l’Antiquité.

Les thermes, considérés parmi les plus vastes de l’Afrique romaine, ont été mis en service sous le règne de l’empereur Antonin, en 165 ap J.C, après 15 ans de travaux initiés sous le règne d’Hadrien. Le monument s’élevait sur trois niveaux et était surmonté de nombreuses coupoles. Aujourd’hui, seuls des «îlots» subsistent de ce formidable édifice, en particulier, des vestiges du niveau inférieur, réservés au personnel et au service. Ils permettent cependant d’en entrevoir la grandeur et la magnificence. La visite en est facilitée grâce au fléchage au sol et à une signalétique élaborée.

Le même balisage permet de circuler dans la deuxième partie du parc et de découvrir, en allant dans le sens opposé à la mer, une chapelle chrétienne du VIIe siècle, une «scola» ou siège d’une association religieuse du IVe siècle, la basilique de Dermèche I et la nécropole punique et pour ne citer que les principales stations.

Retour

Tunis / Cartahge
- les citernes de la Malga
- l’amphithéâtre
- le cirque
- la basilique Damous Carita
- les thermes d’Antonin
- le théâtre
- le quartier dit de l’Odéon
Du 16/09 au 16/06 : 08.30 - 17.00
Du 17/07 au 15/09 : 08.00 - 19.00
Du 17/06 au 17/07 : 08.00 - 17.00 (Horaire Ramaden )
10 Dt
Billet Groupé
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria