The el Jem Amphitheatre
 
 

This is by far the most imposing Roman monument of Africa; its huge, round shape rises from the desert plain and can be seen from a great distance, especially as the town that grew around the monument is made up of low-lying buildings.

It is also one of the best conserved buildings of its kind, despite all the vicissitudes it encountered over the centuries, in particular when it was bombarded with cannon balls at the end of the XVIIth century in an attempt to dislodge a rebel tribe that had sought refuge within, and which provoked a large breach in the side of the building.

The monument is almost elliptical and measures 149m long by 124 wide and 36 m high. The tiers of seats, which had disappeared and have now been partially reconstructed, could accommodate up to 30,000 spectators, ranking it 7th after those of Rome, Capua, Milan, Autun, Verona and Carthage. The arena measures 65m along its longest axis, and has two large underground galleries crossing it, through which actors, wild beasts and machinery could pass and wait in two series of eight underground cells.

For a long time it had no other role than that of a historical monument but in the last two decades the El Jem coliseum has served to host the symphonic music festival in summer as well as other artistic events.

Back

Center
- amphitheatre
- museam
From 16/09 to 18/06 : 7:30- 17.30
From 18/07 to 15/09 : 07:30 - 18.30
From 17/06 to 17/07 : 8:00-17:00 Horaire Ramaden
10 Dt
Grouped ticket
- Wc
- Shop
- Cafeteria

Amphithéâtre d’El Jem
 
 

C’est le monument romain d’Afrique du Nord, de loin le plus imposant, sa silhouette ronde et massive s’élève dans une plaine plate et désertique qui le laisse voir à très longue distance, et cela, d’autant plus facilement que la localité qui s’est développée autour de l’édifice a évité les constructions en hauteur.

C’est aussi l’un des ouvrages de son genre les mieux conservés, malgré les nombreuses vicissitudes qu’il a traversées dans le temps, en particulier le sévère bombardement au canon à boulets qu’il a subi à la fin du XVIIe siècle pour en déloger une tribu rebelle qui s’y était retranchée, ce qui provoqua une grande brèche dans le flanc de l’édifice.

De forme presque elliptique, le monument mesure 149 m de long sur 124 m de large et 36m de haut. Les gradins, aujourd’hui disparus et partiellement reconstitués, pouvaient accueillir jusqu’à 30.000 spectateurs, ce qui classe cet édifice en 7ème position après ceux de Rome, Capoue, Milan, Autun, Vérone et Carthage. L’arène, longue de 65m dans son grand axe, est traversée en sous-sol par deux larges galeries par lesquelles arrivaient acteurs, fauves et engins qui pouvaient être cantonnés dans deux séries de huit cellules souterraines.

Longtemps réduit au seul rôle de monument historique, le Colisée d’El Jem est, depuis à peu près deux décennies, utilisé comme espace culturel accueillant, en été, le festival de musique symphonique d’El Jem et d’autres manifestations artistiques.

Retour

Centre
- amphithéâtre
- musée
Du 16/09 au 31/03 : 08.00 - 17.30
Du 01/04 au 30/04 : 08.00 - 18.30
Du 01/05 au 30/05 : 07.30 - 19.00
10 Dt
Billet Groupé
- Toilettes
- Boutique
- Cafétéria